Weather Fair 84.0°F (45%)
LHS Cheerleaders Earn Top Honors
Wednesday, August 15, 2012 • Posted August 17, 2012

Llano High School Cheerleaders brought home numerous accolades from the Universal Cheerleaders Association (UCA) summer camp they attended at Angelo State University. LHS cheerleaders earned both team awards as well as individual awards, including the coveted “Top Banana” title for demonstrating the greatest spirit and displaying their hometown traditions. This makes the fourth consecutive “Top Banana” award for LHS.

The girls competed in every category of competitions available at camp and finished first or second in each division. The combined JV and Varsity squads choreographed an original routine for the Home Pom category and won Camp Champs as well as runner-up for the Fight Song Division. The JV cheerleaders also won Camp Champs in the Extreme Routine division and runner-up in the Cheer division. The Varsity cheerleaders finished first as Camp Champs in the Cheer division and runner-up in the Extreme Routine division. According to Coach Nita Fields, the Llano cheerleaders compete against squads of all sizes, not just against other schools of the same size. “I’m really proud of our girls who beat our toughest competition—Big Spring High School with a squad of about thirty—to earn Camp Champions in two of the four categories.” The Varsity squad also earned a Superior trophy for achieving a superior rating for all of the daily evaluations.

In addition to the squad honors, several of the cheerleaders and our mascot “Sting” earned individual recognition(s). Two JV cheerleaders, Meredith Moore and Kacy Rowley, as well as four Varsity cheerleaders, Macie Alcoser, Kylie Hufford, Sarah Marion and Tiger Maddox, were named UCA All-American cheerleaders. Jaiden Sprey as mascot earned honors as the Most Improved Mascot and the Most Traditional Mascot.

UCA has a relatively new honor called the “Pin It Forward” award that is based on a cheerleader or mascot demonstrating the true spirit of cheerleading. The first day of camp, UCA instructors observe the kids to see who is putting that something extra into their camp experience and those kids are selected as “Pin It Forwards.” These cheerleaders then get to pin another cheerleader from a different squad. Only twelve students were “pinned” at camp this year and four were from Llano High School. Kacy Rowley was pinned the first night by an instructor, and then Meredith Moore, Baylee Glover, and Jaiden Sprey were also pinned by other cheerleaders/mascot. “As coaches, we are thrilled to have our girls recognized as leaders at camp. To have four of the total twelve selected represent Llano High School makes us especially proud,” said Beth McDaniel, the JV cheer coach.

The following students will be on the sidelines this year as your Llano High School Cheerleaders.

Varsity: Macie Alcoser and Bailey Pippenger—co-captains, Kylie Hufford, Samantha Lawrence, Sarah Marion, Tiger Maddox, Baylee Glover, Tori Coats, Christy Vassar, and Jaiden Sprey as “Sting.”

Junior Varsity: Claire Scott and Tanna Castelan—co-captains, Haley Mize, Melia Tubbs, Kacy Rowley, Meredith Moore, Raychel Beasley and Megan Owens.

Cheer coaches are Nita Fields and Beth McDaniel.

This article has been read 314 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of The Llano News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus