Weather Fair 84.0°F (45%)
Llano County Election Results
Two local races head to run-offs
Wednesday, March 3, 2010 • Posted March 3, 2010

After the polls closed at 7 p.m. last night, Llano County Elections Administration Candy Kokernot and her staff tabulated the vote totals. Candidates and friends gathered at Llano County Clerk Bette Sue Hoy’s office on the courthouse square to watch as the vote totals were posted. Many more Llano residents waited at nearby Stonewalls Restaurant for the final results, escaping from the cold night air.

Four Llano County races were contested in the Republican Primary. With Llano County Commissioner Henry Parker retiring at the end of his current term, four candidates tossed their names into the hat to become the new Precinct 2 Commissioner. Linda Raschke led the quartet with 329 votes, Marvin Gray garnered 259 votes, Jesse James received 255 votes, and Paul Green gathered 75 votes. Since none of the candidates received 50% of the vote, the top two vote getters will face off in a run-off election on April 13. With provisional ballots still uncounted as of press time, it was too close to determine whether Gray or James will be in the run-off against Raschke.

Raschke said, "I am overwhelmed. I’m excited and pleasantly surprised. We had anticipated a run-off all along, and we are ready to go to work again." Marvin Gray said, "I was hoping the work was going to be over today, but I am not surprised that there is going to be a run-off. I guess I am going to have to work even harder." The News was unable to reach James for comment before press time.

Don Stiles won the primary contest with 462 votes over Roy Inks II, who received 250 votes, to become the Republican candidate for Llano County Commissioner in Precinct 4. Stiles will face Democrat Jerry Don Moss, the incumbent Precinct 4 Commissioner, in the November 2 General Election this fall. Don Stiles said, "I am very pleased with the confidence the voters showed in me, and I will do my very best to make sure they never regret it."

Incumbent Justice of the Peace in Precinct 1, Richard Owen, faced three challengers in the Republican primary. Owen, who received 530 votes, will face veteran law enforcement officer W. Kermit Robinson who received 323 votes, in the April 13 run-off election. In an interview after the votes were posted Tuesday evening, Owen said, "I want to thank the voters who voted for me, and I hope to visit with many more Llano County citizens in the coming weeks. I will continue to work diligently to see that justice is served in Llano County if the voters give me another term in office." The News could not reach Robinson for comment before press time.

Incumbent Justice of the Peace Linda Ballard, with 581 votes, won re-election over challenger Tim McCray who received 247 votes.

Incumbents County Judge Wayne Brascom, District Clerk Joyce Gillow, County Clerk Bette Sue Hoy, Treasurer Sandra Overstreet, Justice of the Peace Era Marion, Justice of the Peace Brian Alexander, and Surveyor Fred Thompson ran unopposed for re-election in the Republican primary, do not face a Democratic opponent in the general election, and will be sworn in for another term in office in January 2011.

Incumbent 424th District Judge Dan Mills ran unopposed in the Republican primary in a multi-county district that includes Llano, Blanco and Burnet Counties, does not face a Democratic opponent in the general election, and will serve another term in office.

Tuesday night’s vote counts are "unofficial" as some mail-in and provisional ballots have not yet been included. The exact vote count may change once all ballots are tallied.

This article has been read 1866 times.
Readers are solely responsible for the content of the comments they post here. Comments do not necessarily reflect the opinion or approval of The Llano News. Comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.
Comments powered by Disqus